Chamber Music New Zealand Presents:
Borodin Quartet

The Russian legacy / consummate musicians / sophistication / masterful / unsurpassed musical presence The incomparable Borodin Quartet return to New Zealand to mark the 125th anniversary of Tchaikovsky’s death. Described as ‘the Russian Grand Masters’, the Quartet was founded in 1945 and eight years later played at the funerals of both Stalin and Prokofiev – remarkably, held on the same day. After seven decades of exceptional performance, the Borodin is regarded as one of the greatest quartets of the modern era. Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 9 fizzes with ecstatic effervescence, while the lovely melodies of Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No. 1 once brought Leo Tolstoy to tears. These Russian masterpieces are framed by Haydn’s sparkling Op. 33 No. 1 (the first of his “Russian” Quartets) and by Hugo Wolf’s exquisitely expressive Italian Serenade. Steeped in history and honed to perfection, this quintessential string quartet performance will be a landmark this Season. “There can be no greater experience in chamber music than the Borodin Quartet playing Shostakovich.” - The Australian

HAYDN | String Quartet in B Minor, op. 33, no. 1
SHOSTAKOVICH | String Quartet No. 9 in E-flat Major, op. 117
WOLFItalian Serenade
TCHAIKOVSKY | String Quartet No. 1 in D Major, op. 11

Newsletter Sign Up
Sign up to our free mailing list for monthly chances to win a free night out for two. Better yet, you'll be right up-to-date with latest news, concerts and events.