New Zealand String Quartet - Christopher's Classics

Time & Date
23rd August 2018
7:30 - 10:00pm
The Philip Carter Family Concert Hall
Adults $40
Full-time students with ID $15

Helene Pohl (violin), Monique Lapins (violin), Gillian Ansell (viola), Rolf Gjelsten (cello)

Beethoven - String Quartet in f minor, Op. 95, Bartok - String Quartet No 2, Op. 17 Webern - 6 Bagatelles, Mozart - C Major Quintet

The 30-year-old NZSQ is one of the ensembles that the Christopher’s Classics Concert Series was founded to serve 23 years ago. Admired internationally with recordings featured in the top ten classical charts, they can be relied on to be insightful, energetic and colourful.

Serenity Thurlow is principal viola in the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra and an accomplished Chamber musician and soloist.  She studied at the University of Canterbury under the late Jan Tawroszewicz, then at the Salzburg Mozarteum, where she was in demand as a chamber orchestral musician, playing with The Salzburg Chamber Soloists, Camerata Salzburg, and Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss.

She plays a French viola by Honore Derazey Circa 1865 with bows by Gary Leahy, Ireland and Francois Malo, Canada.

Tickets: Eventfinder. Door sales, cash and eftpos. $40, full-time students with ID $15. For information and a photograph, contact: Diana Moir (03) 355 2691, 021 126 5738,

Christopher’s Classics

The Christopher’s Classics programme, founded by Christopher Marshall, has become a mainstay of the Christchurch chamber music scene, featuring six concerts a year and showcasing some of New Zealand’s finest musicians.