Christopher's Classics

Hyein Kim - Christopher's Classics (The Christopher Marshall Concert)

Time & Date
18th May 2023
7:30 - 9:00pm
The Philip Carter Family Concert Hall
Tickets are available at the door
$40 cash, $45 EFTPOS/credit card for adults;
$15 cash, $17 EFTPOS/credit card for students
​or from Eventfinda (charges apply).

The Christopher Marshall Concert

Hyein Kim (cello)
Katherine Austin (piano)

Prokofiev - Cello sonata in C major, Op. 119
Rachmaninoff - Vocalise, Op. 34
Tchaikovsky - Pezzo capriccioso, Op. 62
Shostakovich - Cello sonata in D minor, Op. 40
Karl Davidoff - At the fountain, Op. 20 No. 2

​Hyein Kim was born in 1999 in Seoul, South Korea and moved to Christchurch in 2007. At 13 he was awarded first prize at the International Padova Competition in Italy. He has been awarded first prize in the Gisborne International Music Competition and second prize in 2021 National Concerto Competition.

Head of Piano Studies at the University of Waikato for 21 years, New Zealand pianist Katherine Austin performs regularly around NZ and overseas, touring frequently for Chamber Music New Zealand, and broadcasting regularly on Radio New Zealand Concert.