Aroha Qtet & Robert Orr - Christopher's Classics

3rd September 2020
7:30 - 10:00pm
The Philip Carter Family Concert Hall
Tickets available through Eventfinda
$50 General Admission
$20 Students
Cash/Eftpos door sales also available

Aroha String Quartet with Robert Orr
Haihong Liu (violin)
Konstanze Artmann (violin)
Zhongxian Jin (viola)
Robert Ibell (cello)
Robert Orr (oboe)

Britten ~ Phantasy Quartet for Oboe and String Trio in F minor, Op. 2
Beethoven ~ String Quartet No. 7 in F major, Op. 59 No. 1 “Rasumovsky”
Alex Taylor ~ Refrain for String Quartet
Bliss ~ Quintet for Oboe and String Quartet, op. 44.

Acclaimed as demonstrating “accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity” (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet, founded in 2004, is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique and multicultural innovation.

The program consists of two British works for oboe and strings: Britten’s Phantasy Quartet, the first piece that bought him international recognition, and Bliss’s gorgeous Oboe Quintet. The third work in this programme is “Refrain” by award-winning New Zealand composer Alex Taylor.

Christopher’s Classics
The Christopher’s Classics programme, founded by Christopher Marshall, has become a mainstay of the Christchurch chamber music scene, showcasing some of New Zealand’s finest musicians. Following the 3 September concert the 2020 series features the NZ Trio on 7 October.