Christopher's Classics

Argyle Trio - Christopher's Classics

Time & Date
14th September 2023
7:30 - 9:00pm
The Philip Carter Family Concert Hall
Tickets are available at the door
$40 cash, $45 EFTPOS/credit card for adults;
$15 cash, $17 EFTPOS/credit card for students
​or from Eventfinda (charges apply).

Wilma Smith (violin)
Matthias Balzat (cello)
Laurence Matheson (piano)

Beethoven - Piano Trio C minor Op. 1 No. 3 Smetana - Piano Trio in G minor Op. 15
Dvořák - Piano Trio in D minor Op. 90 “Dumky"

Since retiring from the MSO, Wilma Smith has prioritised her chamber music roots, enjoying old and new relationships in the US and New Zealand as well as Australia.

Matthias Balzat is a New Zealand born cellist. He began playing the cello at the age of 3, and has completed his NZ studies under James Tennant. Matthias was the winner of the strings section of the ROSL Annual Music Competition in 2021. 

​From Melbourne, Laurence Matheson is a pianist who began his full-time studies in 2013. He was selected as a Fellow of the Australian National Academy of Music in 2016.